New member - JAN 2021. Hello

An area for less experienced collectors to ask questions and show their finds.
Mysteron man

New member - JAN 2021. Hello

Post by Mysteron man »

Hi everybody and thank you to the admin for letting me join your forum. A happy New Year to you all.

I would like to introduce myself as an absolute beginner, I have no collecting knowledge or experience, nor any model making experience. I am recently retired so find myself with time on my hands but have a meagre budget. My imagination has been captured by the vehicles that bring back my childhood memories. Gerry Anderson features a lot there and particularly Captain Scarlet. Never had any of these toys as a child, from a very humble family. I have been browsing the net, particularly eBay trying to assess value and costs of purchase etc. I cannot afford to buy the mint examples so decided to buy play worn and restore them for display. I have sort of dipped my toe in the Dinky/Corgi pond and bought a few examples. I thought I would need a few practice vehicles and ended up with a fleet of Maximum Security Vehicles! I also had a go at The Saint Volvo. I have tried to faithfully restore the Captain Scarlets but tinkered with the Saint car, its come out OK-Ish but doesn't stand close scrutiny. I don't have a mancave, I have a man patch! which is slowly amassing most of the things listed in the section about what you need to complete restorations.

Hopefully images will attach.

I hope to add to the fleet, my next project being a Shado 2 followed by a Batmobile.

I have sourced my repro decals and a few parts from eBay, they do seem good quality so am happy to stick with them but would welcome any other tips for obtaining such parts etc.

Ive enjoyed mooching around this forum and seeing the great stuff people have, naturally I am particularly drawn to the thread regarding Gerry Anderson stuff. Ive also found my way to the Dinky tvspace site which is excellent.

I welcome any tips or advice.